Baku signs declaration of Non-Aligned Movement

Baku signs declaration of Non-Aligned Movement

In Baku, within the framework of the Non-Aligned Movement Summit, four documents were signed, including the Baku Declaration and the Declaration on Palestine, Vestnik Kavkaza correspondent reports.

The summit participants signed the Final Document, the Baku Political Declaration, Gratitude and Solidarity to Azerbaijan and the Azerbaijani people, and the Declaration on Palestine.

High-level officials of the countries of the Non-Aligned Movement, leaders and representatives of international organizations, as well as special guests and diplomats, took part in the general debate.

The guests of the summit expressed their gratitude to the President of Azerbaijan, Ilham Aliyev, and the government for the high level of organization of the event and hospitality, and also expressed confidence that the organization will remain committed to the Bandung principles and achieve even greater success under the Chairmanship of Azerbaijan.

Azerbaijani Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov noted that the adopted documents once again demonstrate the commitment of member states to the Bandung principles.

The organization includes 120 countries that refused to participate in military blocs. Among the honoured guests were the presidents of Iran, Cuba, Venezuela and Turkmenistan. In total, 158 countries confirmed their participation in the summit.

The Non-Aligned Movement was created during the Cold War at the Belgrade Conference in September 1961. It was joined by the states that did not want to enter the NATO bloc or the Warsaw Pact, in particular, Yugoslavia, India and Egypt.