GUAM countries to create free trade zone

GUAM countries to create free trade zone

The foreign ministers of the member countries of the Organization for Democracy and Economic Development (GUAM), comprising Georgia, Ukraine, Azerbaijan and Moldova, participated in a ministerial meeting in Georgian capital of Tbilisi today to commemorate the 20th anniversary of cooperation.

Welcoming the achievement of the organisation during the last 20 years, Georgian Foreign Minister Mikheil Janelidze said GUAM has become a strong political player on the international arena.

"20 years ago four friendly states gave foundation to GUAM for peace, stability, cooperation and economic development in the region”, Minister Janelidze said.

Stressing the importance of the joint communique signed today, Janelidze said this document is proof that all the four states are taking responsibility to be more active in achieving joint results for the welfare of their people.

The minister said an agreement has been achieved to create a free trade zone among the GUAM-member states "that will be important not only for commercial-economic cooperation, but further strengthening of a transport corridor as well”.

"The transport corridor can bring welfare, stability and development to the entire region. To achieve this, we of course welcome every interested party both from the east and from the west," cited Janelidze as saying.