Riyadh forms Islamic alliance to combat terrorism

Riyadh forms Islamic alliance to combat terrorism

An Islamic military alliance has been created to fight terrorism. The coalition, headed by Saudi Arabia, includes 34 countries: Jordan, the UAE, Pakistan, Bahrain, Turkey, Tunisia, Sudan, Somalia, Palestine, Qatar, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Egypt, Nigeria, Yemen. More than 10 Islamic countries, including Indonesia, supported the coalition.

A joint operations center will be based in Riyadh to coordinate and support military operations.

Saudi Defense Minister Mohammed bin Salman Al Saud said that it will fight any terrorist organization posing a threat, including Daesh.

As the head of the Defense Ministry said, the Alliance intends to coordinate operations with major powers and international organizations, TASS reports.