Russia extends food embargo to 5 countries


Russia has extended its food embargo to 5 countries: Iceland, Montenegro, Albania, Liechtenstein and Ukraine.

"The countries' argument for making that decision is that they are obliged to enter into a number of agreements with the European Union. But this position is only partially fair. I want to stress that a number of countries have similar agreements with the EU, but are not participating in sanctions against Russia," Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev noted.

He added that joining the sanctions is a "conscious choice, which means their readiness to a response from our part".

"In regard to Ukraine, the ban on exporting agricultural goods will come into effect only if the country’s government implements the economic part of the Association Agreement with the European Union which Kiev signed in June last year," TASS cited Medvedev as saying.

ФОТО {caption}