Russia works on visa-free regime with 6 more countries

Maria Novoselova / Vestnik Kavkaza

Russia is preparing intergovernmental agreements on visa-free travel with six more countries, Russian Economy Minister Maxim Reshetnikov said.

Gulf countries such as Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Kuwait and Oman are expected to welcome Russian citizens without requiring them to obtain visas in advance to enter the country. As part of efforts to increase tourism ties, Russia is also negotiating with other states, including Malaysia and Myanmar.

According to him, some of those agreements are due to be signed by the end of 2024.

"We are holding talks on a visa-free system with a number of countries. These are Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Malaysia and Myanmar above all. We are discussing this with Myanmar. We expect to sign some of those agreements by the end of this year," Reshetnikov said.

© Photo :Maria Novoselova / Vestnik Kavkaza