Garibashvili names Georgian cabinet with two new faces

Garibashvili names Georgian cabinet with two new faces

Candidate for the Georgian premiership Irakli Garibashvili has named his cabinet members earlier today which includes two new faces - candidates for the minister of infrastructure and defence. 

Maia Tskitishvili, who has served the country’s regional development and infrastructure minister since 2018 has resigned and her deputy, Irakli Karseladze, has been nominated as her replacement. 

Juansher Burchuladze who previously served as the Georgian deputy defence minister has been nominated for defence minister, replacing Garibashvili in the role. 

The candidates nominated are as follows: 

Justice Minister - Gocha Lortkipanidze

Foreign Minister - David Zalkaliani

Interior Minister - Vakhtang Gomelauri

Defence Minister - Juansher Burchuladze

Finance Minister - Ivane Machavariani

Minister of Economy and Sustainable Development - Natia Turnava

Minister of Education, Science, Culture and Sport - Mikheil Chkhenkeli

Minister of Environmental Protection and Agriculture - Levan Davitashvili

Minister of Regional Development and Infrastructure - Irakli Karseladze 

Minister for Internally Displaced Persons, Health and Social Issues - Ekaterine Tikaradze

State Minister for Reconciliation and Civil Equality - Tea Akhvlediani

Prime Minister Giorgi Gakharia resigned yesterday and the ruling Georgian Dream party nominated Garibashvili for the post. 

The parliament will have to approve a new PM and cabinet in two weeks. If parliament fails to approve the new government, the president will dismiss the parliament and snap parliamentary elections will be scheduled. Voting is scheduled on February 22.