Georgia's Parliament elects new chairperson

Georgia's Parliament elects new chairperson

Leader of the Georgian Dream ruling party majority Archil Talakvadze has been elected the new chairperson of the legislative body after the resignation of Irakli Kobakhidze on June 21.

Talakvadze was elected to the post with 94 votes with none against, as the opposition parties declined to participate in the plenary session earlier today after the Georgian Dream refused to discuss their resolution text on the dismissal of Interior Minister Giorgi Gakharia, reported.

Kobakhidze resigned from the chair of the Georgian parliamentary speaker during the Interparliamentary Assembly on Orthodoxy on June 20.

 Talakvadze had served as deputy interior minister in 2014-2016, worked for the international organisations in Georgia and in the Ombudsman’s office.