Georgian parliament approves Garibashvili

Georgian parliament approves Garibashvili

The Parliament of Georgia by a majority of votes decided to pass a vote of confidence to the candidate for prime minister Irakli Garibashvili, his cabinet and the government program. The voting was broadcast live on the parliament’s website.

”By 89/2 vote the Parliament of Georgia expressed confidence," RIA Novosti quotes the speaker of the Parliament Archil Talakvadze as saying.

The ruling Georgian Dream has 90 mandates out of 150 in parliament, 75 votes were needed to express confidence in a candidate for prime minister.

Garibashvili left the composition of the Georgian government practically unchanged, with the exception of the heads of two departments - the Ministry of Infrastructure and the Ministry of Defense: the first, instead of Maya Tskitishvili, will be headed by Irakli Karseladze, the Minister of Defense, who was Garibashvili himself a few days ago, will now be his deputy Juansher Burchuladze.

Minister of Internal Affairs Vakhtang Gomelauri, Minister of Education, Science, Culture and Sports Mikhail Chkhenkeli, Head of the Ministry of Health Yekaterina Tikaradze, State Minister for Reconciliation and Civil Integration Teya Akhvlediani, Minister of Finance Vano Machavariani, Minister of Foreign Affairs David Zalkaliani, Head of the Ministry of Justice Gocha Lortkipanidze, Minister of Environment and Natural Resources Levan Davitashvili, Head of the Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development Natia Turnava remained in their posts.