New composition of European Commission approved

New composition of European Commission approved

The European Union parliament has approved incoming Commission President Ursula von der Leyen's new team by a large majority.

Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) voted in favour of the new commissioners by 461 to 157 against. There were 89 abstentions.

The new team will take office on 1 December, a month later than planned.

The list as follows: Vice-President for European Green Deal Frans Timmermans (Netherlands), A Stronger Europe in the World Josep Borrell (Spain), Values and Transparency Vera Jourova (Czech Republic), Vice-President - Europe fit for the Digital Age Margrethe Vestager (Denmark), Relations and Foresight Maros Sefcovic (Slovakia), An Economy that Works for People Valdis Dombrovskis (Latvia), Vice-President for Democracy and Demography Dubravka Suica (Croatia), Vice-President for Promoting the European Way of Life -  Margaritis Schinas (Greece).