SCO meeting starts in Tashkent

Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO )members started a meeting in
Tashkent on Friday, ITAR-TASS reports.

The participants will discuss issues of security and the situations in
Afghanistan and Kyrgyzstan, as well as development of economic and
investment cooperation. At the end of the meeting the members will
approve a new scheme for accepting new members.

The SCO consists of Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan
and Uzbekistan. Kyrgyzstan is represented by its Foreign Minister,
Ruslan Kazakbayev. Iran, Pakistan, India and Mongolia have the status
of observers. Belarus and Sri Lanka have had the status of partners
since April.